In February 1982, a proposal was made for the establishment of a dental department as part of the Faculty of Medical Sciences of the University of Nigeria. The intention was that this would form the nucleus of a Faculty of Dentistry of the College of Medicine. At the instance of Professor D. C. Nwafo, the then Head of Surgery this initiative was set in motion.
This proposal was later followed by the creation of Department of Dentistry, as part of Department of Surgery, under the Faculty of Medical Sciences and Dentistry.

In 1991, that one Department of Dentistry blossomed into three Departments, namely: Oral and Maxillofacial Facial Surgery, Preventive Dentistry and Restorative Dentistry.

Prior to 2004, the School had graduated three sets of Dental Surgeons. With an unalloyed determination for growth, the University Senate, out of its wisdom, created a full-fledged independent Faculty of Dentistry in 2004; in 2005, the Faculty birthed the fourth department – Child Dental Health, while machinery for the creation of Department of Oral Medicine and Oral Pathology as the fifth Department has advanced.

Gordon Ritchie – a Professor of Dentistry, University of London, was invited by the Vice Chancellor to assist in establishing the School of Dentistry in the College of Medicine of the University of Nigeria. Prof. Ritchie was willing to assist the University, having done the same for several Universities in Nigeria and in countries in the Middle-East and Singapore.

The first Head when the Department was created was Professor A. L. Nwoku, who was a visiting Professor from Lagos.
A full-fledged Faculty was created in 2004. The current Dean of the Faculty is Prof. Christopher Udoye of the Department of Restorative Dentistry. Today we have four (4) Departments which is a big leap from the modest staff strength of three (3) Academic Staff in 1991.

The current Heads of Departments are:
Child Dental Health – Dr (Mrs) Nkiru Folaranmi
Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery – Dr. C.C. Uguru
Preventive Dentistry – Dr (Mrs.) Abigail E Akaji
Restorative Dentistry –  Dr. (Mrs.) Linda Oge Okoye

Faculty of Dentistry is the youngest faculty in the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. It is one of the three faculties in the College of Medicine, University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus. It is presently sharing the same location with the University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, Ituku-Ozalla. It occupies a white two-storey building donated to the Faculty by First Bank of Nigeria Plc. The Faculty of Dentistry became the pioneer faculty to relocate to Ituku-Ozalla Campus of University of Nigeria. The building houses the four departments in the Faculty, viz-a-viz, Department of Child Dental Health, Department of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery, Department of Preventive Dentistry and Department of Restorative Dentistry.