This image for Image Layouts addon

Faculty of Dentistry College of Medicine

Our History

In 1982, following the urgent need to establish a dental school in the College of Medicine, University of Nigeria Enugu Campus to train dental surgeons that will serve the Eastern Nigeria as there was no dental institution training doctors, a proposal was made for the establishment of a dental department as a part of the Faculty of Medical Sciences of the University of Nigeria. The intention was that this would form the nucleus of a Faculty of Dentistry of the College of Medicine and thus the first admission of students to Dentistry took off in 1983 necessitating the renaming of Faculty of Medicine to Faculty of Medical Sciences and Dentistry. At the instance of Professor D. C. Nwafo, the then Head of Surgery, Prof. Gordon Ritchie- a Professor of Dentistry, University of London was invited by the Vice Chancellor to assist in establishing the School of Dentistry in the College of Medicine of the University of Nigeria. Prof. Ritchie was willing to assist the university, having done the same for several universities in Nigeria and in countries in the Middle-East and Singapore.

Following a letter from the then Provost of College of Medicine, Prof. R. O. Anikwe, a date was fixed for the visit of Prof. Ritchie in the first and second week of October, 1982. Surprisingly, nothing was heard of the arrangement for two years the Department of Dentistry was created as part of the Faculty of Medicine. As at the time, neither academic nor technical staff was appointed nevertheless eleven students were admitted in 1983 as first set of students. Dentistry became part of Department of Surgery

In a bid to establish a school of Dentistry by the College of Medicine, a working relationship was established with the Federal School of Dental Technology and Therapy to provide the proposed School of Dentistry access to the facilities of the former. Towards the end, a tripartite agreement was entered into by the College of Medicine, the University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital and Federal Ministry of Health, which was terminated at the instance of the Rector of the Federal School of Dental Technology and Therapy in 1999.

Consequently, the faculty lost accreditation after it had graduated three (3) sets of Dental Surgeons.

The first Head when the Department was created was Professor A. L Nwoku an oral & maxillofacial surgeon who was a visiting professor. The first permanent staff was Dr. Sam Maduakor from the University of Benin who held brief when the Professor Nwoku left. Thereafter, Dr. M. S Amaeshi took over and later handed over to Dr. B. Kulesakera who was a visiting Reader from University of Ibadan.

Not while, Dr. Kulesakera returned to Ibadan at the end of his tenure. The mantle fell on Dr. Etisiobi Ndiokwelu. Prof. Ndiokwelu later became the pioneer College Dean when the university created three (3) Departments from the original one department viz: Departments of Oral and Maxillofacial surgery, Preventive Dentistry and Restorative Dentistry. This was in 1989; the same year pioneer Dental Surgeons were produced. The Department then became a School of Dentistry. The first Heads of Departments were; Dr. Sam Maduakor - Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery), Dr. Etisiobi Ndiokwelu, Preventive Dentistry, Dr. Nagendran Restorative Dentistry. In 1992 the school was closed down by NUC for lack of accreditation.

Thereafter, a full fledge Faculty was created in 2004 under the then Provost Prof. BC Ozumba who worked tirelessly to see to the accreditation of the young created faculty. Prof. Chima Oji the then Head of oral & Maxillofacial Surgery thus became the first substantive Dean of the newly created Faculty of Dentistry. Thereafter in 2007 in some challenging circumstances getting the young faculty to properly stand Dr CI Udoye was appointed Acting Dean with full powers as the Dean of the Faculty.

In 2009 Professor Etisiobi Ndiokwelu of the Department of Preventive Dentistry became the Dean of the Faculty and following his retirement in 2011, Dr Mrs Oge Okoye was appointed Acting Dean by the then VC with full powers of a Dean of Faculty. The chronological progress of the faculty during this period was palpable as we got MDCN full accreditation in 2012. However, in 2014 Prof Chris Udoye from the department of Restorative Dentistry took over as the new Dean that ended in 2018. History was made as the young faculty that has been striving to survive produced the first indigenous professor and substantive Dean of the Faculty in the person of Prof. Felix Nzube Chukwuneke the current Dean of the Faculty.

Today we have five (5) Departments a big leap from the modest staff strength of three academic staff and three departments in 1991.

Connect with us




Please publish modules in offcanvas position.